David Jackson named Patriot League Midfielder of the Year; Four mids take all-league honors

ANNAPOLIS, Md. – Matching Pre-Season Predictions, Junior david jackson of the Navy Men’s Soccer Team has been named the 2022 Patriot League Midfielder of the Year, as announced by the league office on Friday afternoon.

Jackson was one of four contenders to earn All-League honors as Jackson was named to the All-Patriot League First Team along with the senior defender. JD Wagnerwhile the junior striker Baba Kallie earned All-Patriot League Second Team honor and sophomore midfielder Neighborhood Noah received All-Patriot League Third Team accolades.

The Navy’s top scorer, Jackson earns the league’s top midfielder award and first-team honors after tallying six goals and three assists, as his 15 points rank fourth in the conference at the start. of playoffs. The Cypress, Texas native made history by posting a five-game streak from Sept. 9-28, the longest scoring streak by a Navy player since 1968, and had three consecutive games with a goal from the penalty spot during this period. . He also secured the Mids tournament berth with his PK tally against American on Wednesday, and his 4-for-4 mark on shots this season puts him as one of seven NCAA players currently to be perfect on four. or more. penalty attempts. Chosen as the pre-season midfielder of the year in August, Jackson was a second-team all-league selection in 2021 after earning Patriot League Rookie of the Year and third-team honors. of all leagues in 2020-21.

Wagner finished the regular season with one assist and 16 starts, as the team captain was part of a Navy backline that limited opponents to one goal per game and assisted goaltenders of the Navy to post five clean sheets this season. The four-year-old starter also ranks third on the team with 1,432 minutes played this season despite missing the game against Villanova. The Medford Lakes, N.J., native was a third-team All-Patriot League winner last season and a two-time Patriot League Academic Honor Roll recipient.

Finishing second on the team with four goals, Kallie earned All League honors for the third consecutive season. The junior added two career assists and paced the Mids with 29 shots during the regular season, and was one of four players to play in all 17 games so far this season. The Liberia-born striker notched two game-winning scores, as Kallie netted the Navy’s first goal of the season when he netted against Saint Joseph’s in the season opener and led the Mids to victory in of their first league game with his goal against Bucknell. A second-team All-Patriot League selection also last campaign, Kallie was named the league’s third pick in his 2020-21 rookie season.

Ward earned all-league status for the first time in his career with his All-Patriot League third-team selection, as the second concluded the regular season as the team’s third-leading scorer. The Colleyville, Texas winger scored his first college goal to help Navy to a 2-2 draw at Lehigh, also racking up four assists for six points while being the second of four Mids to play each game this season.

Voting for teams in all Patriot League leagues and major awards was conducted by the league’s head coaches, who could not vote for their own student-athletes or themselves.

Ranked fourth in the upcoming 2022 Patriot League tournament after finishing the regular season at 5-4-8 overall and 3-1-5 in the league, the Navy will begin its quest for the conference title by hosting No. 5 Lafayette in quarterfinal. . The contest between the Mids and Leopards is scheduled for 7 p.m. Saturday at the Glenn Warner Soccer Facility.

2022 All-Patriot Men’s Soccer League and Major Awards

Offensive Player of the Year – Gage Guerra, Army West Point, So., F

Midfielder of the Year – david jacksonMarine, Jr., M

Defensive Player of the Year – Griffin Roach, Boston University, Sr., D

Goalkeeper of the Year – Francesco Montali, Boston University, Sr., GK

Rookie of the Year – Max Andrews, Army West Point, Fr., D

Coach of the Year – Brian Plotkin, Army West Point

first team
Gage Guerra, Army West Point, So., F
Marcos Kitromilides, Lafayette, Sr., F
Jack Sarkos, Lehigh, father, F
Kelan Swales, Loyola Maryland, Gr., F
Cooper Warren, Army West Point, Jr., M
Colin Innes, Boston University, Sr., M

david jacksonMarine, Jr., M
Nick Atkinson, Army West Point, Jr., D
Griffin Roach, Boston University, Sr., D

JD WagnerMarine, Sr., D
Francesco Montali, Boston University, Sr., GK

second team
Robbie Matei, American, Jr., F
Aidan Davock, Colgate, Jr., F
Evan Jones, St. Croix, So., F

Baba KallieMarine, Jr., F
Evan Schweickert, American, Jr., M
Quinn Matulis, Boston University, Sr., M
Hale Lombard, Lafayette, Jr., M
Cooper Nunn, American, Jr., D
Max Andrews, Army West Point, Fr., D
Nick Hazel, Lafayette, Sr., D
Matthew Lala, Loyola Maryland, Sr., D
Alex Sutton, Lafayette, Sr., GK

Third team*
Andrew Rent, Boston University, Jr., F
Lawrence Aydlett, Lafayette, So., F

Neighborhood NoahNavy, so.
Zemi Rodriguez, American, So., M
Sam Epitime, Army West Point, Jr., M
Alejandro Coury, Colgate, So., M
Mike Bleeker, American, Jr., D
Evan Morrison, Boston University, Gr., D
Will Echeverria, Lafayette, Sr., D
Tomas Hut, Army West Point, So., GK

* Due to a tie vote, there are 12 members in the second team and 10 members in the third team.

Helen J. Jimenez