NFL jersey number changes: Why Dalvin Cook, Derwin James and more stars have new numbers for the 2022 season

Sometimes good things are worth the wait.

Vikings running back Dalvin Cook might not have said the above words verbatim, but he would have saved over $1 million by waiting a season to take advantage of changes to jersey number rules. the NFL to move to No. 4 for the 2022 season.

To add context to Cook’s decision to cut costs, NFL rules required him to repurchase existing inventory of retail-ready No. 33 jerseys if he had to change numbers during the season. 2021 season. Instead of shelling out the cash, Cook played the 2021 season wearing No. 33 and, ahead of the 2022 NFL season, switched to No. 4, which he wore while torching defenses from the ACC while at Florida State.

Cook isn’t the only former Seminole to revert to his collegiate number, as Chargers safety Derwin James dropped a digit to go from wearing No. 33 in the first two seasons of his career to wearing No. ° 3 in 2022.

NFL 2022 PROJECTIONS: Where all 32 teams will finish, plus SN’s Super Bowl pick

Cook and James are two of the many notable players who have made the switch ahead of the next campaign. Here’s everything you need to know about NFL jersey number changes ahead of the 2022 season.

What is the NFL jersey number rule?

Starting with the 2021 season, running backs, wide receivers, tight ends, linebackers and defensive backs were given more number options, with each of the groups being allowed to have uniform numbers at one. figure.

In addition to single-digit numbers, running backs can wear numbers in their teens or 80s, tight ends and wide receivers can wear numbers from 30 to 49, and defensive backs can also wear numbers during teenagehood.

Here is how groups of numbers break down:

Post group Number options Previous Number Options
Quarterbacks 1-19 1-19
Running backs 1-49, 80-89 20-49
Wide Receivers 1-49, 80-89 10-19, 80-89
tight ends 1-49, 80-89 40-49, 80-89
offensive line 50-79 50-79
defensive line 50-79, 90-99 50-79, 90-99
Linebackers 1-59, 90-99 40-59, 90-99
Defensive backs 1-49 20-49
Kickers 1-19 1-19
punters 1-19 1-19

NFL number changes in 2022

Including Cook and James, there’s a large group of veterans who will sport new looks in the upcoming NFL season, including Panthers wide receiver Robbie Anderson, who comes along with a change in the spelling of his first name. with a change from #11 to #6.

Crew Player Position New number old number
Atlanta Falcons Lorenzo Carter KG 9 59
Baltimore Ravens Rashod Bateman WR seven 12
Baltimore Ravens James Close WR 3 11
Buffalo Tickets Jaquan Johnson CC 4 46
Buffalo Tickets Taron Johnson CC seven 24
Buffalo Tickets Isaiah McKenzie WR 6 19
Buffalo Tickets Andre Smith KG 9 59
Carolina Panthers Robbie Anderson WR 3 11
Cleveland Browns amari cooper WR 2 89
Dallas Cowboys Anthony Brown CC 3 30
Dallas Cowboys Kelvin Joseph CC 1 24
Dallas Cowboys Jourdan Lewis CC 2 26
Denver Broncos Randy Gregory OF 5 94
Detroit Lions Chark DJ WR 4 17
Detroit Lions DeShon Elliott S 5 32
Detroit Lions Jeff Okuda CC 1 23
Detroit Lions Josh Reynolds WR 8 18
Green Bay Packers Dallin Leavitt S 6 32
Houston Texans Marlon Mac RB 2 25
Houston Texans Tremon Smith CC 1 24
Kansas City Chiefs Ronald Jones II RB 2 27
Kansas City Chiefs Ju Ju Smith Schuster WR 9 19
Los Angeles Chargers Gerald Everett AND seven 81
Los Angeles Chargers Derwin James S 3 33
Los Angeles Chargers Kyle Van Noy KG 8 53
Los Angeles Rams Cam Akers RB 3 23
Los Angeles Rams Trojan Hill CC 2 23
Los Angeles Rams Allen Robinson WR 1 12
Las Vegas Raiders Tyron Johnson WR 1 17
Miami Dolphins jevon holland S 8 22
Minnesota Vikings Dalvin Cook RB 4 33
Minnesota Vikings Cam Dantzler CC 3 27
Minnesota Vikings Alexander Mattison RB 2 25
New England Patriots DeVante Parker WR 1 11
New England Patriots Jabril peppers S 3 21
New Orleans Saints Mark Ingram II RB 5 14
New Orleans Saints Marcus Maye S 6 20
New York Jets Jordan White Head S 6 33
Philadelphia Eagles pascal pascal WR 3 14
Philadelphia Eagles Haason Reddick KG seven 43
San Francisco 49ers Ray-Ray McCloud WR 3 14
Seattle Seahawks Uchenna Nwosu KG ten 42
Tampa Bay Buccaneers Kyle Rudolph AND 8 80
Tennessee Titans Cody Hollister WR 8 16
Washington Commanders William Jackson III CC 3 23

The 2022 draft class is the second batch of rookies who were able to take advantage of the new rules from day one.

2023 NFL DRAFT: Big 50 Players Big Table Update

Notable rookies to take advantage of the rules include top 10 picks Ahmad “Sauce” Gardner, Kayvon Thibodeaux and Drake London.

Crew Player Position Number
Atlanta Falcons Drake London WR 5
Baltimore Ravens Kyle Hamilton CC 14
Chicago Bears Jaquan Brisker S 9
Chicago Bears Kyler Gordon CC 6
Detroit Lions jameson williams WR 9
Green Bay Packers dock walker KG seven
Green Bay Packers Christian Watson WR 9
Houston Texans Jalen Pitre S 5
Jacksonville Jaguars Devin Lloyd KG 33
Kansas City Chiefs Bryan Cook S 6
Kansas City Chiefs Skyy Moore WR 24
Minnesota Vikings Lewis Cine S 6
New York Giants Kayvon Thibodeaux OF 5
New York Jets Ahmad “Sauce” Gardner CC 1
Seattle Seahawks Coby Bryant CC 8
Seattle Seahawks Kenneth Walker III RB 9
Washington Commanders Jahan Dotson WR 1

Helen J. Jimenez